Stir fry greens

by isaac black

Image

 

Picture included this time!

I’ve been growing spinach, arugula, bok choy, and broccoli raab since about March, so every other day I pick off some greens to munch on or make in a stir fry. I use them all in my stir fries. Broccoli raab is awesome and gives a nice mustardy flavor.

I make about 1/2 cup of rice in a rice cooker. I have an electric range, so I turn it to high and sautee garlic in sesame oil until it starts to burn, then I deglaze the pan with black rice wine and soy sauce. Then I add the greens, plus carrots. (I also had snow peas, sprouts, green onions, and cashews on hand previously, all of which were good.) I cook on high heat until the greens are done and the sauce is thickened. I like to add a bit of a sear normally, but my shitty range makes it difficult. Then I garnish with cilantro and sesame seeds. Add a little bit of sambal oelek on the side, and you got yourself a stew, baby.

