by isaac black

Yesterday marked the one year anniversary of my last day at my old job. It went by fast. 

Looking back at my year off I can’t help think of how little I did, even though I wrote a novel and went on half a dozen trips-of-a-lifetime. And part of the success of all that time off was to slow down my sense of productivity, to allow myself some days to only drink coffee, make dinner, and watch a movie. It’s disappointing now to feel myself wanting to account for all my unstructured time. 

I have learned to devote more time to my friends, something which allows me to ask for more in return, or to just feel the satisfaction of helping someone I care about. I’ve read some really great books that have influenced me artistically and politically. I’ve learned to calm my financial anxiety by learning what budget I can live on. And I’ve learned to accept the pace of my life and my creativity. 

I feel very at ease at the end of my year off. I’ve started graduate classes in History. I plan to get a job next year to supplement my savings until I can get student loans next fall. I have enough time, as is, to pursue other things and will have more time after this semester to incorporate friends’ feedback on my novel and seek out an agent. 

And I adopted a dog, a husky puppy from a rescue shelter. She’s plenty energetic and curious and demands much of my time but I love her enormously, after only a month. I’ve settled into a steady but not overwhelming pace. 

I believe I’ll keep posting about my life and how I manage to survive periodically, but I will most likely expend my writing energy toward a new blog I started under my birth name, where I will write about insights from my studies. 

It feels good to have accomplished a year without steady work, even though I had few doubts about it being possible. I hope I will continue to be so fortunate in the future. 

